Do I need a Biscuit Joiner?

Hello, I’m a retired hobby woodworker with a reasonable degree of skill but still learning a lot. I’ve made small tops for boxes by jointing wood strips. I plane then glue and clamp and finish and have been very pleased with the results. I’m now thinking of making larger items with, for example at 1m x 1m square top with 3 or 4 pieces of 25mm thick wood (probably beech in first instance. My question is, can I adopt the same technique scaled up or would I get a much better (and stronger result) adding in a Biscuit Jointer to the process. I have my eye of the Makita that Axminster sell but am not wanting to buy unnecessary kit if I can do just as good a job without it. Any thoughts gratefully received. Keith

I’d suggest that biscuits/dowels/dominos in this instance might help with alignment when gluing large panels, but if you’re gluing long grain together with a decent modern glue then I don’t believe it would aid the joint strength; at least, not that you’d need with 25mm thick panels.

Assuming the edges are planed accurately straight and square, a simple butt joint will be perfectly adequate and the use of jointing biscuits will not add any extra strength. They will however make the alignment of the panels easier when cramping together. If you are using PVA adhesive, the open time for assemble is quite short, so if the panels are built up from quite a few boards, it would be best to cramp them together in several sub-assemblies to ensure the adhesive does not start to dry and give you a thick weak glue line.