Has anybody invested in Shaper Origin? Would you recommend it?

I am looking at the Shaper Origin; given the cost I would be interested in real-world views of how you found it. Do you find the benefit to your business is worth the investment?

For me, the idea would be mainly to improve the quality of furniture joints with unusual angles, and also the fill gaps in demand by producing smaller items for sale which would take longer to make with a router (signs, trays etc).

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

David.

Hi David.
I’ve long been an advocate for the Origin, and on this forum, although not many others have agreed!!
No idea why though, most seemingly preferring CNC’s…
I’m a hobbyist and haven’t yet persuaded myself that © £3000* is an appropriate sum for new tool. *For the Shaper and workstation setup.
Barry.

Having watched the recent Shaper Origin webinar promoted by, and involving, AT I am very impressed with the machine and workstation. Unlike a dedicated CNC machine the Origin can produce small shapes on large items and also make the smaller items using the Workstation. That said, it does not fall into the tooling that I need so will remain as a tool I admire rather than own.

Hi, I bought a shaper origin and workstation last year, I use it practically every day in my workshop.

It takes some time to get use to the technical side of using it, (I’m pretty tech savvy) but once I learnt the machine, it’s limitations and how to set up it’s a very accurate router and powerful to cut the hardest timber.

I use it mainly for engraving into oak and use it for mortise and tenon jointing.

On Shaper Hub which you get access as part of the initial outlay cost to an array of other users projects/designs which you can download to your SO and make, all very simple once you’ve mastered the technical side of it.

It has some great features on it and if you can afford the outlay it’s well worth it.