Jet JWL 1221VS Wood Lathe

I have the above lathe, purchased from Axminster just 18 months ago, and I’m just starting out with some turning projects now I’ve retired… can any of you experienced turners advise if I can get a drill chuck to fit into the tailstock of this lathe for centre drilling… Thanks…

As this has a standard MT2 taper then you will be able to get a Jacobs chuck from Axminster, eBay (make sure any second hand one has a chuck key with it!) or any woodturning outlet.

Hi, Malc… Thanks for your response…

The tail stock on the lathe does not appear to have a taper…it’s got a live centre on a bearing which is attached to a tailstock ram of 27mm diameter (see photo)…

Instructions say… ‘the live centre can be ejected by turning the handle wheel counter clockwise (which seems ok, done that), and ‘The live centre pin can be removed to allow deep hole drilling operations’…

So I presume then that any chuck for drilling would need to be attached to a 27mm diameter bar with a lock quill…same as the the live centre…?

emphasized text

The inside of the quill has the female morse taper which grips the live centres male taper which you have fitted. To eject the live centre either:

• continue to wind the tailstock wheel in so the quill disappears into the tailstock. There will be some slight immediate resistance as the quill goes in and as you continue the two morse tapers should slide away from each other and the live drive will be ejected revealing the same recess as you have on the headstock.
    Or

• use the knockout bar and insert into the end of the quill at the handle end and tap the live drive out. If you have not used the lathe for a while this might be best as the tapers may be gripping

If your knowledge of how lathes work is very limited it would be good for you to join a local AWGB club and watch some demo’s and chat to members or else get a good basic book like Keith Rowley’s one. Or else go to your local Axi store and chat to them.