Learning to Turn

Moving into retirement a few months back I decided to purchase a small lathe to have a go at turning pens. A trip to Axminster changed all that… Like a kid in a sweetshop I was enthralled by the range of kit available. SO… finally decided I needed a lathe that would allow me to grow beyond pens. Have watched hours of You tube videos and have tried to emulate what I saw… have had some sucesses with bandsaw boxes, pens bowls from boards and small bowls ( and some majestic catches) but now feel I need to have some instruction to move forward especially with how to best present gouges to the piece. Axminster offers a week group course ( but no spaces until April 2020)… I have seen a days one to one instruction, not cheap but just affordable. Be happy to hear anyones experience, suggestions or recommendations to improve. I live North West Kent boarders.

Hi there
Like you I retired earlier this year but had been turning for a few years. I am entirely self taught and again like yourself I have spent days on end watching YouTube. I have turned out some pretty good stuff but always felt that there was probably a better way to do things and so I booked the 2 day bowl and platter turning course at Axminster Sittingbourne. There were only 4 of us on the course so we had a very good level of instruction and every aspect was discussed before turning the bowls and platters in easy steps. It turned out that I had been using my gouges almost the exact opposite way that I should have. Peter Hibbin the instructor is a real craftsman and shared his knowledge with us all freely and we left the course with a bowl and a platter to be proud of. I was so impressed with the course that I have booked a router course in February 2020. If you can get on the bowl and platter course you will learn a great deal about gouge presentation to the wood and also the importance of finishing. You could then also maybe see if the spindle course would be available earlier to cover off tha