What Lathe height?

Hi. I’m new to turning and have just bought my first lathe the Ax Craft AC305wl. It a bench mounted one.

What kind of height should I be using it at? Eg spindle level with waist, mid way chest etc?

Many thanks in advance.

C

I’ve just had swift measure of my V1628 on a cast iron stand and it 1.114m from the centre of the spindle to the floor - Rob

1 Like

Thanks Woodbloke. I’ll see what that looks like. I’m only a hobbit so all is relative!

C

No problem. I was round at your place just before Christmas :joy: - Rob

Who left the door open? Cost a fortune to heat that place!

Woodbloke. I think you missed the point, Zubar was asking about height in relation to his (elbow) etc.

Im not in a position to measure mine currently, but can do so tomorrow, I’m guessing spindle at or just above elbow should suit.

Zubar: You can hopefully find ‘your’ comfort height, at least with a bench mount it should be easy to move upward!!

BTW: Earth houses are inherently warm.

Barry :wink:

@Barry thanks for that, exactly what I was after. Gives me a guide anyway. I’m sure there is a degree of personal preference.

I know about the earth houses but comedy isn’t my finest point!!

Thanks all, I’ll let you know how I get on.
Roll on the weekend!

C

Barry, you’re right of course; depends on your height (or otherwise if you’re a Hobbit :joy:) but maybe you don’t need to worry about it?

I just had a quick play with a tape and my elbow is 100cm from the floor, with shoes on. The lathe is 35cm bench to spindle centre.
This seems to fit with woodblokes measurements to a degree.

I’ll likely bodge up some kind of stand for it.

Do you think it would be ok to fix the lathe eg screw it directly to the stand? It has ‘rubber’ feet which are very hard so unlikely to provide any damping effect as they are.

Thanks for all the advice, it’s much appreciated.

C