A beginners conundrum on tool quality

I’m looking for opinions?
I am a relative beginner in the woodwork field.
What would the community advise on tool purchases, as money becomes available should I buy more cheaper tools to learn more techniques and jeopardise quality? Or should I save up, wait and buy more professional level tools.

I suppose my question should be, will more expensive tools make my finished work better or can the same be achieved with cheaper power tools?

Not sure what kind of woodworking you have in mind, but I’d say go for quality every time as everything is easier and hence more enjoyable with better tools. If you buy cheap you’ll probably end up buying something better in the end so it’ll cost more in the long run.

If you’re interested in woodturning I’d be happy to share my experience over the last few years from starting out as there’s a few things I’d do differently!

1 Like

Hi, Vernon, It can be a bit bewildering knowing what tools to purchase when you first start out. Looking at my own power tools ,I note that they are mainly Hitachi and Makita. I have tried cheaper, unbranded tools in the past, especially drills, but these have only lasted a year or two at best. Having said that , whatever drill you buy, this is probably the the one item that you will be replacing on a regular basis, irrespective of the quality. Other tools can have a much longer life, my Hitachi router, for instance. has lasted well over thirty years, which is quite remarkable, as I had several small Trend routers over this same period that didn’t perform as well.
When I first started out I purchased tools for each job I did as and when I needed them, They weren’t always the best quality, but they allowed me to tackle the job at hand. I was often a case of “This way it happens”. Along with this came the knowledge of what were the best affordable tools. We can all be seduced by the flashiest, most expensive kit, but it seldom justifies its high price tag,